Stolen base ruling question
-
- Posts: 681
- Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 6:00 pm
Stolen base ruling question
Here is what happened. Getz was going to be in a very close play at second on the steal so he decided to slide head first very wide and slip his left hand in on the way past. He certainly touched the bag but overslid the bag. Castro then just sat there and sort of waited and Getz knew there was no way to get back into 2nd safely so he took off for third. Castro threw it to Ramirez at third and Ramirez either got him out himself or made one throw to 2nd baseman who got the out. Just curious why that would not be considered a stolen base of 2nd and a caught stealing of third. As has Castro waited slightly too long and Getz gets to third it would be two stolen bags wouldn't it? Never seen that before and curious on your thoughts on the ruling of a simple caught stealing.
Stolen base ruling question
Toggle down to e
10.07 STOLEN BASES AND CAUGHT STEALING
The official scorer shall credit a stolen base to a runner whenever the runner
advances one base unaided by a hit, a putout, an error, a force-out, a fielder’s choice, a
passed ball, a wild pitch or a balk, subject to the following:
(a) When a runner starts for the next base before the pitcher delivers the ball and the
pitch results in what ordinarily is scored a wild pitch or passed ball, the official
scorer shall credit the runner with a stolen base and shall not charge the misplay,
unless, as a result of the misplay, the stealing runner advances an extra base, or
another runner also advances, in which case the official scorer shall score the wild
pitch or passed ball as well as the stolen base.
(b) When a runner is attempting to steal, and the catcher, after receiving the pitch,
makes a wild throw trying to prevent the stolen base, the official scorer shall credit
the runner with a stolen base. The official scorer shall not charge an error unless the
wild throw permits the stealing runner to advance one or more extra bases, or
permits another runner to advance, in which case the official scorer shall credit the
runner with the stolen base and charge one error to the catcher.
Rule 10.07
97
(c) When a runner, attempting to steal, or after being picked off base, evades being put
out in a run-down play and advances to the next base without the aid of an error, the
official scorer shall credit the runner with a stolen base. If another runner also
advances on the play, the official scorer shall credit both runners with stolen bases.
If a runner advances while another runner, attempting to steal, evades being put out
in a run-down play and returns safely, without the aid of an error, to the base he
originally occupied, the official scorer shall credit a stolen base to the runner who
advances.
(d) When a double- or triple-steal is attempted and one runner is thrown out before
reaching and holding the base such runner is attempting to steal, no other runner
shall be credited with a stolen base.
(e) When a runner is tagged out after oversliding a base, while attempting either to
return to that base or to advance to the next base, the official scorer shall not credit
such runner with a stolen base.
[ June 24, 2011, 08:48 PM: Message edited by: ToddZ ]
10.07 STOLEN BASES AND CAUGHT STEALING
The official scorer shall credit a stolen base to a runner whenever the runner
advances one base unaided by a hit, a putout, an error, a force-out, a fielder’s choice, a
passed ball, a wild pitch or a balk, subject to the following:
(a) When a runner starts for the next base before the pitcher delivers the ball and the
pitch results in what ordinarily is scored a wild pitch or passed ball, the official
scorer shall credit the runner with a stolen base and shall not charge the misplay,
unless, as a result of the misplay, the stealing runner advances an extra base, or
another runner also advances, in which case the official scorer shall score the wild
pitch or passed ball as well as the stolen base.
(b) When a runner is attempting to steal, and the catcher, after receiving the pitch,
makes a wild throw trying to prevent the stolen base, the official scorer shall credit
the runner with a stolen base. The official scorer shall not charge an error unless the
wild throw permits the stealing runner to advance one or more extra bases, or
permits another runner to advance, in which case the official scorer shall credit the
runner with the stolen base and charge one error to the catcher.
Rule 10.07
97
(c) When a runner, attempting to steal, or after being picked off base, evades being put
out in a run-down play and advances to the next base without the aid of an error, the
official scorer shall credit the runner with a stolen base. If another runner also
advances on the play, the official scorer shall credit both runners with stolen bases.
If a runner advances while another runner, attempting to steal, evades being put out
in a run-down play and returns safely, without the aid of an error, to the base he
originally occupied, the official scorer shall credit a stolen base to the runner who
advances.
(d) When a double- or triple-steal is attempted and one runner is thrown out before
reaching and holding the base such runner is attempting to steal, no other runner
shall be credited with a stolen base.
(e) When a runner is tagged out after oversliding a base, while attempting either to
return to that base or to advance to the next base, the official scorer shall not credit
such runner with a stolen base.
[ June 24, 2011, 08:48 PM: Message edited by: ToddZ ]
2019 Mastersball Platinum
5 of the past 6 NFBC champions subscribe to Mastersball
over 1300 projections and 500 player profiles
Standings and Roster Tracker perfect for DC and cutline leagues
Subscribe HERE
5 of the past 6 NFBC champions subscribe to Mastersball
over 1300 projections and 500 player profiles
Standings and Roster Tracker perfect for DC and cutline leagues
Subscribe HERE
Stolen base ruling question
Rule 10.07:
(e) When a runner is tagged out after oversliding a base, while attempting either to
return to that base or to advance to the next base, the official scorer shall not credit
such runner with a stolen base.
(e) When a runner is tagged out after oversliding a base, while attempting either to
return to that base or to advance to the next base, the official scorer shall not credit
such runner with a stolen base.
Stolen base ruling question
Rule 10.07:
(e) When a runner is tagged out after oversliding a base, while attempting either to
return to that base or to advance to the next base, the official scorer shall not credit
such runner with a stolen base.
(e) When a runner is tagged out after oversliding a base, while attempting either to
return to that base or to advance to the next base, the official scorer shall not credit
such runner with a stolen base.
Stolen base ruling question
[ June 24, 2011, 08:52 PM: Message edited by: KJ Duke ]
-
- Posts: 681
- Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 6:00 pm
Stolen base ruling question
Thanks guys. That is pretty clear. Royals announcers brought it up the next time Getz came up and speculated that it was because the ump never signaled safe. That may be partially true, but not really.