My Draft Strategy (For 1 draft at least)

BK METS

My Draft Strategy (For 1 draft at least)

Post by BK METS » Fri Mar 16, 2012 2:10 pm

Everyone has a draft strategy, heavy pitching, heavy hitting, best player available, speed/pitching, young upside, and I am sure there are many more.

I was in a 15 team satellite last night, after drafting 10 teams already this year, not including the MLBC, which was its own animal. Now... I am no expert. Sure I have been doing these types of leagues for longer than there has been internet, but by no means do I have the credentials of some of the pros in the NFBC. But, one thing I do know is, I take risks and I take advice from others to improve myself every year. This year is no exception. I have seen some of the strategies and have taken a little bit from every league I have been in.

This is by no means my live draft strategy (or maybe it is :mrgreen:) But, last night, I did things a little differently and would love to hear some feedback. My thought was, first - fill out my hitting lineup to the best of my ability, as long as I could, until the closers started moving quickly, hop on the closer bandwagon for 3 picks, maybe not top notch closers, but 3 serviceable ones, then, concentrate the rest of the draft on starting pitching. So, from what you will see, there will be no top tier starters on my team, but concentrating on getting 10 decent starters, hoping for 7 to break out or rebound, then picking up the rest in FAAB. I didn't wait as long as some have on starters, but 13th round was my first starting pitcher. I took a variety of starters, from big upside, bounceback potential, and solid middle of the road starters. As you can see from my hitting, for a 15 team league, I think I did pretty well and drafted a lot of flexible players.

So, thats it. Nothing earth shattering, but just something to chew on, and spit out if you want...

15 Team Satellite - 14th pick

C- Napoli (3), Iannetta (18), Barajas (26)