someone explain the call in the pirates game to me

Post Reply
User avatar
Rog
Posts: 544
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:00 pm

someone explain the call in the pirates game to me

Post by Rog » Fri May 11, 2012 7:37 pm

1-2 count on barmes .both strikes came trying to bunt,he sticks the bat out to bunt on a 1-2 count pulls it back and gets hit on the hand holding the barrell.The umpire calls him out the pirates manager argues and it gets overturned and now the astros manager get tossed.My question is if you are trying to bunt and it hits the fingers on the barrel and goes foul shouldnt you be out for bunting foul on a 3rd strike and if not shouldnt you be awarded 1st base for being hit by pitch?He ended up grounding out on the next pitch.Is it possible that even if he was trying to bunt and pulled the bat back far enough that it is now not considered a bunt attempt but just a foul ball even though he had his hand on the barrel in a bunt attempt?

Hells Satans
Posts: 1180
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 6:00 pm

Re: someone explain the call in the pirates game to me

Post by Hells Satans » Sat May 12, 2012 7:19 am

My guess is that the ump ruled that it his bat while he was pulling it back and therefore not in the process of bunting, so it was like a foul check swing as opposed to a foul bunt.

It makes sense when you consider the purpose of the 3rd strike foul bunt rule which was to prevent hitters from just standing up there for 20 pitches and bunt fouling them off

Fourslot40
Posts: 471
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 6:00 pm

Re: someone explain the call in the pirates game to me

Post by Fourslot40 » Sat May 12, 2012 7:41 am

Rog,

When pulling a bunt back, you are no longer committed so the automatic third strike foul bunt goes away. Look at it like a half-swing being checked by the line umpire. Looks like they felt it didn't hit his hand and it was off the bat therefore it's a simple foul ball. He would be awarded third base had they felt it hit his hand. Now, if he pulls the bunt back too late and the ball hits him in the hand while in the strike zone on a third strike, he can be ruled out instead of being awarded first base. I didn't see this play so I can't tell. It is important to note that a huge misconception is that the hand is an extension of the bat. It is not. Being hit in the hand is a hit by pitch at all times, unless there is a committed swing or blocking of the strike zone.

Hope this helps.

User avatar
Rog
Posts: 544
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:00 pm

Re: someone explain the call in the pirates game to me

Post by Rog » Sat May 12, 2012 7:44 am

thanks guys

Post Reply