Stolen base ruling question

Post Reply
Cocktails and Dreams
Posts: 681
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 6:00 pm

Stolen base ruling question

Post by Cocktails and Dreams » Fri Jun 24, 2011 2:02 pm

Here is what happened. Getz was going to be in a very close play at second on the steal so he decided to slide head first very wide and slip his left hand in on the way past. He certainly touched the bag but overslid the bag. Castro then just sat there and sort of waited and Getz knew there was no way to get back into 2nd safely so he took off for third. Castro threw it to Ramirez at third and Ramirez either got him out himself or made one throw to 2nd baseman who got the out. Just curious why that would not be considered a stolen base of 2nd and a caught stealing of third. As has Castro waited slightly too long and Getz gets to third it would be two stolen bags wouldn't it? Never seen that before and curious on your thoughts on the ruling of a simple caught stealing.

User avatar
ToddZ
Posts: 2798
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 6:00 pm

Stolen base ruling question

Post by ToddZ » Fri Jun 24, 2011 2:41 pm

Toggle down to e





10.07 STOLEN BASES AND CAUGHT STEALING

The official scorer shall credit a stolen base to a runner whenever the runner

advances one base unaided by a hit, a putout, an error, a force-out, a fielder’s choice, a

passed ball, a wild pitch or a balk, subject to the following:

(a) When a runner starts for the next base before the pitcher delivers the ball and the

pitch results in what ordinarily is scored a wild pitch or passed ball, the official

scorer shall credit the runner with a stolen base and shall not charge the misplay,

unless, as a result of the misplay, the stealing runner advances an extra base, or

another runner also advances, in which case the official scorer shall score the wild

pitch or passed ball as well as the stolen base.

(b) When a runner is attempting to steal, and the catcher, after receiving the pitch,

makes a wild throw trying to prevent the stolen base, the official scorer shall credit

the runner with a stolen base. The official scorer shall not charge an error unless the

wild throw permits the stealing runner to advance one or more extra bases, or

permits another runner to advance, in which case the official scorer shall credit the

runner with the stolen base and charge one error to the catcher.

Rule 10.07

97

(c) When a runner, attempting to steal, or after being picked off base, evades being put

out in a run-down play and advances to the next base without the aid of an error, the

official scorer shall credit the runner with a stolen base. If another runner also

advances on the play, the official scorer shall credit both runners with stolen bases.

If a runner advances while another runner, attempting to steal, evades being put out

in a run-down play and returns safely, without the aid of an error, to the base he

originally occupied, the official scorer shall credit a stolen base to the runner who

advances.

(d) When a double- or triple-steal is attempted and one runner is thrown out before

reaching and holding the base such runner is attempting to steal, no other runner

shall be credited with a stolen base.

(e) When a runner is tagged out after oversliding a base, while attempting either to

return to that base or to advance to the next base, the official scorer shall not credit

such runner with a stolen base.



[ June 24, 2011, 08:48 PM: Message edited by: ToddZ ]
2019 Mastersball Platinum

5 of the past 6 NFBC champions subscribe to Mastersball

over 1300 projections and 500 player profiles
Standings and Roster Tracker perfect for DC and cutline leagues

Subscribe HERE

mgk2004
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 6:00 pm

Stolen base ruling question

Post by mgk2004 » Fri Jun 24, 2011 2:49 pm

Rule 10.07:



(e) When a runner is tagged out after oversliding a base, while attempting either to

return to that base or to advance to the next base, the official scorer shall not credit

such runner with a stolen base.

mgk2004
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 6:00 pm

Stolen base ruling question

Post by mgk2004 » Fri Jun 24, 2011 2:50 pm

Rule 10.07:



(e) When a runner is tagged out after oversliding a base, while attempting either to

return to that base or to advance to the next base, the official scorer shall not credit

such runner with a stolen base.

User avatar
KJ Duke
Posts: 6574
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2004 6:00 pm

Stolen base ruling question

Post by KJ Duke » Fri Jun 24, 2011 2:51 pm





[ June 24, 2011, 08:52 PM: Message edited by: KJ Duke ]

Cocktails and Dreams
Posts: 681
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 6:00 pm

Stolen base ruling question

Post by Cocktails and Dreams » Fri Jun 24, 2011 3:16 pm

Thanks guys. That is pretty clear. Royals announcers brought it up the next time Getz came up and speculated that it was because the ump never signaled safe. That may be partially true, but not really.

Post Reply